Make your own free website on











   Home  •  News  •  Awards  •  Bio  •  Links  •  About  •  Contact 

2003 Harvey Awards Nominees Announced

Northampton, MA, April 21, 2003 April 21, 2003 -- The Harvey Awards Committee is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2003 HARVEY AWARDS, recognizing outstanding achievements in the comics industry field during the past year.

The complete list of categories and nominees can be found on the Harvey Awards web site,

Named after the late cartooning genius Harvey Kurtzman and founded in 1988, the Harveys are one of the industry's oldest and most respected awards. The nominee list (based on comics-related publications shipping during the calendar year 2002) has been compiled by tallying nominating votes from ballots mailed to over 2,000 industry writers, artists, editors, and other professionals involved in the creative aspects of the comics industry.

Winners of the 2003 Harvey Awards will be selected by a second ballot sent to comics' creative community. The Harveys are the only industry awards where both the nominees and winners are selected by the entire body of comic book professionals. Final Ballots will be mailed soon to the same professionals who received nominating ballots.

Eligible creators who are not receiving ballots should contact Harvey Awards Administrator Paul McSpadden by e-mail at or by writing: Harvey Awards c/o McSpadden, 605 West Arapaho, Richardson TX 75080.

This year's winners will be announced through the comics media and all winners will receive their respective physical awards by mail. For the first time since 1988, the Harveys will not be presented at a banquet ceremony. The formal ceremony will be resumed in 2004 will details to follow in a separate press release.

The Harvey Awards Committee is Dave Bissel, Anthony Bozzi, Denis Kitchen (chairman), Nellie Kurtzman, Paul McSpadden (administrator), Jamie Riehle (web site), Todd Scott and Jim Titus.

* * *

Contact Information:

For General Information, contact Denis Kitchen: phone (413) 259-1627, fax (413) 259-1812 or e-mail; or write to: Harvey Awards, P.O. Box 329, Northampton MA 01061-0329.

Current and past Harvey Award winners and additional information about the awards can be found at our official web site:

"Harvey Award" is a trademark owned by Harvey Kurtzman's widow, Adele Kurtzman, and is used with permission.

Other News

• 2003 Nominees

• Full List of 2002 Winners

• Sponsors Announced for 2003 Harvey Awards

News Archives

• Full List of 2001 Winners

• 2001 Harvey Award Nominees Announced

• Todd Scott Joins Harvey Awards Committee

• 2001 Harvey Awards Ballots Due February 16

• 2000 Harvey Award Winners are announced!

• Full list of 2000 Winners

• 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony Information

• Jeff Smith & Evan Dorkin to Host 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony

• Harvey Awards Move to Pittsburgh Comicon