Make your own free website on











   Home  •  News  •  Awards  •  Bio  •  Links  •  About  •  Contact 


Northampton, MA, March 7, 2002 -- The Harvey Awards Committee is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2001 HARVEY AWARDS, recognizing outstanding achievements in the comics field during the past year.

Named after the late cartooning genius HARVEY KURTZMAN and founded in 1988, the Harveys are one of the industry's oldest and most respected awards. The nominee list (based on comics publications which shipped during the calendar year 2001) has been compiled by tallying nominating votes from ballots mailed to over 2,000 industry writers, artists, editors, and other professionals involved in the creative aspects of the comics industry.

Harvey Award winners will also be selected by comics' creative community through a Final Ballot. The Harveys are the only industry awards where both the nominees and winners are selected by the entire body of comic book professionals. Final Ballots are being mailed to the same professionals who received nominating ballots, with a voting deadline of April 10th.

Eligible creators who have not received a ballot should contact the Harvey Awards Administrator Paul McSpadden by e-mail at or by writing: Harvey Awards, P.O. Box 329, Northampton MA 01061-0329.

This year's recipients will be honored at the 15th Annual Harvey Awards Banquet on FRIDAY, APRIL 26th (8:00 PM) at the PITTSBURGH COMICON. EVAN DORKIN, the creator of "Milk & Cheese," "Eltingville" and "Dork!" will be the evening's Master of Ceremonies for the third consecutive year. TONY MILLIONAIRE, creator of "Maakies" and "Sock Monkey," will deliver the keynote address. Dorkin and Millionaire have each received Harvey nominations and awards in past years.

The awards themselves will be presented by some of the industry's most respected figures, and several of this year's nominees will be in attendance.

Tables can still be reserved for the awards ceremony and banquet. Limited free seating is also available. For more information about the Harvey Awards Ceremony, please contact Renee George at the Pittsburgh Comicon at (814) 467-4116 or by email:

* * *

Contact Information:

For Press Information, email

For a Ballot, email

For Awards Ceremony and Convention Information, contact Renee George at 814-467-4116, email, or visit

For General Information, contact Denis Kitchen at


* * *


Other News

• Full List of 2001 Winners

• Full List of 2002 Nominees

• 2001 Harvey Award Nominees Announced

• Todd Scott Joins Harvey Awards Committee

News Archives

• 2001 Harvey Awards Ballots Due February 16

• 2000 Harvey Award Winners are announced!

• Full list of 2000 Winners

• 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony Information

• Jeff Smith & Evan Dorkin to Host 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony

• Harvey Awards Move to Pittsburgh Comicon