Make your own free website on











   Home  •  News  •  Awards  •  Bio  •  Links  •  About  •  Contact 


Chris Ware Wins 3. Will Eisner Wins 2.
MAD's Al Jaffe voted Best Cartoonist.

Northampton, MA, April 28, 2001 -- The 2001 Harvey Awards were presented Friday night, April 27, at the Pittsburgh Comicon. Previous multi-award winner Chris Ware, of Acme Novelty Library fame, added to his treasure trove, winning three awards, including two for the Jimmy Corrigan collection published by Pantheon Books. Comics legend Will Eisner took home two honors, for works created 60 years apart -- a seeming record. Eisner's most recent work, Last Day in Vietnam, was voted Best Original Graphic Album, and the collections of his 1940's comic, The Spirit, won for Best Domestic Reprint Project. In one of the more evenly-distributed Harvey Awards' ceremonies in recent years, Eisner and Ware were the only multiple-award winning creators.

Longtime MAD contributor Al Jaffe was voted by his peers the coveted Best Cartoonist award -- a particular honor, as the awards are named after the late comics genius Harvey Kurtzman, co-creator of MAD. The Harveys are one of comics' oldest and most respected awards. They are the only industry awards both nominated and selected by the full body of creative comics professionals. This year's voting process included on-line balloting for the first time ever.

In addition to Ware's Acme Novelty Library win as Best Comic Series, three other creators published by Seattle-based Fantagraphics Books took home honors. Brothers Jaime and Gilbert Hernandez were awarded Best Artist and Best New Series, respectively. Black Hole creator, Charles Burns, was named Best Inker. The Comics Journal, also published by Fantagraphics, won the award for Best Biographical, Journalistic or Historical Presentation for the tenth time in the 12 years that this category has been in existence.

Creators and titles published by DC Comics and it's related companies won six Harvey Awards, including Jaffe's, and Eisner's for The Spirit Archives. Alan Moore won his sixth Harvey Award, and third in a row, for Best Writer, this time for Promethea, published by America's Best Comics, one of the imprints under DC's wing. Other winners from the AOL/Time Warner stable, included: Adam Hughes for Best Cover Artist for Wonder Woman; Laura DePuy for Best Colorist for her work on Wildstorm's The Authority; and Superman and Batman: World's Funnest captured Best Single Issue honors for its humorous look at superheroes that featured 18 different artists working on writer Evan Dorkin's story.

Dark Horse comics had two titles and one of it's creators singled out for top honors. Sergio Aragones, famed for his work in MAD and the Dark Horse comic Groo, was given the Special Award for Humor for the tenth time in 13 years. The Best American Edition of Foreign Material award went to Lone Wolf and Cub, originally published in Japan; and Eisner's win for Best Original Graphic Novel rounded out Dark Horse's honors.

Canada-based publisher Drawn & Quarterly won the award for Best Anthology for Drawn & Quarterly. This book featured The Best New Talent award recipient, Michel Rabagliati's work, along with other top cartoonists from around the world.

Ware's Jimmy Corrigan, published by Pantheon Books, collects all the Jimmy Corrigan stories from his Acme Novelty Library series. The book picked up honors for Excellence in Presentation and Best Graphic Album of Previously Published work. These brought Ware's total Harvey Award total to 18, over seven years of work in the field.

Rounding out this year's Awards, Todd Klein won his sixth Harvey for Best Letter, for his work on Castle Waiting, published by Cartoon Books, and "Mutts," by Patrick McDonnell won for Best Syndicated Strip or Panel.

Also presented at this year's ceremony was the Jack Kirby Hall of Fame for outstanding lifetime contributions to the comics field. Inducted this year were European artist Guido Crepax, longtime DC Comics editor and writer Mort Weisinger and golden-age artist Sheldon Moldoff, creator of Hawkman.

This year's Harvey Awards ceremony was emceed by Harvey Award-winning cartoonist and writer Evan Dorkin. Frank Miller, creator of the acclaimed Batman: The Dark Knight Returns series, delivered the keynote address. The 2002 Harvey Awards will again be at the Pittsburgh Comicon, on Friday April 28, 2002.

* * *

Contact Information

For Press Information, contact Chris Bleistein at 413-586-6967 or email

For Awards Ceremony and Convention Information, contact Renee George at 814-467-4116, email, or visit

For General Information, contact Denis Kitchen at 413-586-9844 or email


* * *


Other News

• Full List of 2001 Winners

• Evan Dorkin to MC 2001 Harvey Awards, Frank Miller to deliver keynote address

• Full List of 2001 Nominees

• 2001 Harvey Award Nominees Announced

• Todd Scott Joins Harvey Awards Committee

News Archives

• 2001 Harvey Awards Ballots Due February 16

• 2000 Harvey Award Winners are announced!

• Full list of 2000 Winners

• 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony Information

• Jeff Smith & Evan Dorkin to Host 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony

• Steve Morger Joins Harvey Awards Executive Committee

• Harvey Awards Move to Pittsburgh Comicon