Make your own free website on











   Home  •  News  •  Awards  •  Bio  •  Links  •  About  •  Contact 


Northampton, MA, February 12, 2001 -- The Harvey Awards Committee is pleased to announce that Todd Scott, Trade Show and Special Events Coordinator for Diamond Comics Distributors, has joined its ranks. This announcement comes with less than a week to go before the February 16 deadline for the return of Nominating Ballots for the 2001 Harvey Awards.

A comics fan for over twenty years, Scott's professional interest in the art form began during his college years as a subscription clerk for Mile High Comics. After graduation, he joined Diamond as head of its Denver Distribution Center. Soon thereafter, he put his journalism degree to good use as a copywriter in the marketing department of Diamond's Baltimore office. Since 1994, he's helped bring the wonder of comics to millions of fans through Diamond's participation in the industry's largest conventions and trade shows.

Scott is eager to lend his breadth of experience to the Harvey Awards Committee. "Joining this group will allow me to utilize many of the skills I've gained as a 'Jack-of-all-Trade-Shows' to help the Harvey Awards grow as one of our industry's standards for excellence," said Scott. "I also hope we can use the benchmark of Harvey Award Nominees and Winners -- past, present, and future -- to boost new interest in the art form of comics."

"We're delighted to have Todd bring his industry experience, his energy, and his deep appreciation of comic art to the Harvey Awards Committee," said Committee chairman Denis Kitchen. "I expect the Harveys to reach even deeper into the diverse comics community with Todd on board."

Named after the late comics genius Harvey Kurtzman, the Harvey Awards honor outstanding work in comics and sequential art. One of the industry's two oldest and most respected awards, the Harveys recognize achievements in 20 categories, ranging from Best Artist to the Jack Kirby Hall of Fame. They are the only industry awards both nominated and selected by the full body of creative comics professionals.

For the first time this year, the Final Harvey Awards Ballot will be available online. The list of this year's nominees will be available in March, once all the nominating ballots have been tallied. Qualified comics professionals may vote either online or with the traditional paper ballot. Anyone wishing to register to vote online should send an email with your full name, valid email address, and a brief list of your work in comics to  The Harvey Awards Committee will supply qualified voters with a password to access the secure voting section of the Harvey Awards website.

The 2001 Harvey Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday, April 27th at the Pittsburgh Comicon.  For information about attending the awards ceremony, please contact Renee George at (814) 467-4116 or via email at

* * *

Contact Information

For Press Information, contact Chris Bleistein at 413-586-6967 or email

To obtain a Harvey Awards Ballot, contact Paul McSpadden at 972-690-5491 or email

For Awards Ceremony and Convention Information, contact Renee George at 814-467-4116, email, or visit

For General Information, contact Denis Kitchen at 413-586-9844 or email


Other News

• Evan Dorkin to MC 2001 Harvey Awards, Frank Miller to deliver keynote address

• Full List of 2001 Nominees

• 2001 Harvey Award Nominees Announced

• Todd Scott Joins Harvey Awards Committee

News Archives

• 2001 Harvey Awards Ballots Due February 16

• 2000 Harvey Award Winners are announced!

• Full list of 2000 Winners

• 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony Information

• Jeff Smith & Evan Dorkin to Host 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony

• Steve Morger Joins Harvey Awards Executive Committee

• Harvey Awards Move to Pittsburgh Comicon