Make your own free website on











   Home  •  News  •  Awards  •  Bio  •  Links  •  About  •  Contact 


Northampton, MA, January 29, 2001 -- The Harvey Awards Committee is pleased to announce that Nominating Ballots for the 2001 Harvey Awards are now available. More than 2,000 ballots have already been mailed directly to comics creators and professionals, and more have been supplied to many comics publishers. Nominating Ballots must be received by February 16, 2001.

Named after the late comics genius Harvey Kurtzman, the Harvey Awards honor outstanding work in comics and sequential art. Nominations for the Harvey Awards are selected exclusively by comics creators--those who write, draw, ink, letter, color, design, edit, or are otherwise involved in a creative capacity in the comics field. Any qualified professional wishing to request a ballot should call 972-690-5491 or send an email to This email should include your name, mailing address, and a brief list of your work in comics.

To complete the Nominating Ballots, professionals will be asked to make up to five nominations in 20 categories, ranging from Best New Talent to Best Cartoonist. Voters may make nominations in as many or as few categories as they wish. Those works and creators receiving the most votes will appear on a Final Ballot available in March.

To be eligible for this year's awards, a title or work must have been published between January 1 and December 31, 2000. In order to assist voters in nominating eligible works, the Harvey Awards Committee is pleased to make available a list of "on sale" books for the year 2000. This list has been prepared with the assistance of Diamond Comic Distributors, and is available online at This list is not intended to be a comprehensive list of all eligible works and/or professionals, and does not include titles distributed through other sources. Should voters believe that a deserving work or professional not on this list may be eligible, they are encouraged to nominate them. The Harvey Awards Committee will research such nominations to ensure eligibility.

For the first time this year, the Final Harvey Awards Ballot will be available online. The list of this year's nominees will be available in March. Qualified professionals may vote either online or with the traditional paper ballot. Anyone wishing to register to vote online should email your full name, valid email address, and a brief list of your work in comics to The Harvey Awards Committee will supply qualified voters with a password to access the secure voting section of the Harvey Awards website.

The 2001 Harvey Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday, April 27th at the Pittsburgh Comicon. For information about attending the awards ceremony, please contact Rene George at (814) 467-4116 or via email at

* * *

Contact Information

For Press Information, contact Chris Bleistein at 413-586-6967 or email

To obtain a Harvey Awards Ballot, contact Paul McSpadden at 972-690-5491 or email

For Awards Ceremony and Convention Information, contact Renee George at 814-467-4116, email, or visit

For General Information, contact Denis Kitchen at 413-586-9844 or email


Other News

• Evan Dorkin to MC 2001 Harvey Awards, Frank Miller to deliver keynote address

• Full List of 2001 Nominees

• 2001 Harvey Award Nominees Announced

• Todd Scott Joins Harvey Awards Committee

News Archives

• 2001 Harvey Awards Ballots Due February 16

• 2000 Harvey Award Winners are announced!

• Full list of 2000 Winners

• 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony Information

• Jeff Smith & Evan Dorkin to Host 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony

• Steve Morger Joins Harvey Awards Executive Committee

• Harvey Awards Move to Pittsburgh Comicon