Make your own free website on











   Home  •  News  •  Awards  •  Bio  •  Links  •  About  •  Contact 

Harvey Awards Nominees Announced;

Smith & Dorkin To Host Ceremony


Northampton, MA, March 10, 2000 – The Harvey Awards Committee is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2000 Harvey Awards, recognizing outstanding achievements in comics in 1999. Named after the late comics genius Harvey Kurtzman, the Harveys are one of the industry’s oldest and most respected awards. The nominee list has been compiled by tallying nominating votes from writers, artists, editors, and other professionals involved in the creative aspects of the comics industry. The complete list of this year’s Harvey nominees is available on-line at

The winners of the Harvey Awards will be selected by comics’ creative community through a Final Ballot. Final Ballots have been mailed to more than 2,000 comics creators and publishers. In order to be counted, Final Ballots must be received back by April 10, 2000. Eligible creators who have not received a ballot should contact the Harvey Awards Committee by e-mail at or call Harveys administrator Paul McSpadden at (972) 690-5491.

This year’s Harvey Award recipients will be honored at the 13th Annual Harvey Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 28th at the Pittsburgh Comicon. Evan Dorkin, the creator of Milk & Cheese and Dork!, will be the evening’s Master of Ceremonies. He’ll be joined by Jeff Smith, creator of Bone and publisher of Cartoon Books, who will deliver the ceremony’s keynote address. Dorkin and Smith have each garnered multiple Harvey nominations in past years, and both have received the Harvey’s Special Award for Humor. The awards themselves will be presented by some of the industry’s most respected creators, and many of this year’s nominees will be in attendance.

Tables can still be reserved for the awards ceremony and pre-awards banquet. Limited free seating is also available for the ceremony. For more information about the Harvey Awards Ceremony, please contact Renee George at the Pittsburgh Comicon at (814) 467-4116 or


* * *

Other News

• Evan Dorkin to MC 2001 Harvey Awards, Frank Miller to deliver keynote address

• Full List of 2001 Nominees

• 2001 Harvey Award Nominees Announced

• Todd Scott Joins Harvey Awards Committee

News Archives

• 2001 Harvey Awards Ballots Due February 16

• 2000 Harvey Award Winners are announced!

• Full list of 2000 Winners

• 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony Information

• Jeff Smith & Evan Dorkin to Host 2000 Harvey Awards Ceremony

• Steve Morger Joins Harvey Awards Executive Committee

• Harvey Awards Move to Pittsburgh Comicon